Wow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.com

So Doge. Wow. Much funny.

Hi everyone!

Remember the time when the internet boomed with memes? I love memes. Especially Doge and Derpina… They’re so awkward and funny 😀

So today’s layout features a very Doge’y’ characteristic. the photographs are from the time I and two of my besties had a girls get together and celebrated galentines :-D. We are always into talking funny (& punny) stuff and love PJs. (not pajamas! PJs are “pathetic jokes” :-P)

So here’s the page:

Wow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.com

On this layout I prepared the background using Mix & Match gelatos from Faber Castell (guava, bubblegum and lavender) and have used die cut cardstock from the I AM- Bits and pieces kit from Simple Stories. Also, I cut out the conversation balloon from a vellum paper using my Silhouette Portrait.

The black printed circles and heart is cut out from a cardstock packaging that had my new dress in (Hey, don’t judge me. That was some cool packaging I just couldn’t throw out!).

Wow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.com

Such Page.

I learned quite some lessons while working on this page. Firstly, you should always keep all (and only the ones that are necessary) supplies handy when working on a project. Second, never ever keep water near your silhouette. I repeat- NEVER. I had some bad experiences regarding this(ahem). Thirdly, try a swatch on the paper you are working on whenever you use gelatos, before you use them on the page. And finally, understand which markers/pens are suitable for the surface media you’ll be writing on.

In spite of mistakes and the failing of my feeble attempts to set them right, i think the page turned out pretty fine. 🙂

I think the die cut words are the star of this page. I designed and created the doge words cut file in my silhouette studio, and cut out three copies of the same words on a thick cardstock (250 gsm, local find) and stuck them together, with a black cut out word on top. The final thickness was around 4 mm, which is like really thick.

Wow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.com

I absolutely adore how the cut words give dimension to the project. They look very robust and stand out prominently, and at the same time incorporate my handwriting to the page which gives a more personal touch. Here’s some more pictures giving a closer look at the die cut words-

Wow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.comWow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.comWow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.comWow- Doge meme scrapbook page by Shalaka Deshmukh Tehra on wordpress.com

See you next week!

Much love,

Shalaka

comments, anyone? :>

