When potterhead scrapbooker met modelling paste!

Hi all! (*waves frantically*)

How have you been? I have been awesome. Been on two long vacations; relaxed in one and had crazy fun with family in the other! Missed scrapbooking though. So as soon as I came back I jumped right at the new order of gesso and modeling paste that was waiting for me!!

Being inspired by watching Wilna Furstenberg’s process videos, I decided to try modeling paste myself. Using it was a very new and helluva ( 😀 ) experience. First, I spent days reading about all the mediums like light and heavy modeling paste, gel medium, texture paste and crackle paste and so on. Then I gave up and randomly ordered the first type of modeling paste I laid eyes on on creative hands (because really, you cannot understand these mediums just by reading on the internet. You need to actually work with them and feel the texture, understand their nature and how they dry etc.)

So onto my layout- This one is about me and (one of) my best friend(s), Anannya. We are such Harry Potter fanatics! 😀 We love love love the books. All the characters. The movies too. And most of all Snape!

I decided to create a stencil of my most favourite paragraph from the story (from The Prince’s Tale, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) and use it on the background to apply the paste- Believe me, the moment I had the concept, it was like a brainfreeze 😀 I’m not lying!

The patterned paper from Heidi Swapp’s September Skies Collection prettied up the plain cardstock in an instant. Used Bits and pieces from Simple Stories and Acrylic pieces from Heidi Swapp and fashioned out a bow from a golden wire. The title ‘Potterhead’ was designed and cut out using S note and silhouette portrait, then covered with a thick layer of gesso.

Here’s the page-

Always ❤

From the tip of his wand burst the silver doe. She landed on the office floor, bounded once across the office, and soared out of the window. Dumbledore watched her fly away, and as her silvery glow faded he turned back to Snape, and his eyes were full of tears.
“After all this time?”
“Always,” said Snape.

<3!

Love,

Shalaka

3 thoughts on “When potterhead scrapbooker met modelling paste!

comments, anyone? :>

