Chirps and twitters!

dsc_0001-blog

Hello!

I have been in love with birdhouses since for ever! This week I wanted to make some 2D-esque birdhouses for keepsakes and I loved them so much I decided to incorporate them into a scrapbook layout. And what better picture to scrap than this one of chiu and mau!

I selected a few of my favourite pattern papers (from various collections by American Crafts’ different branches) for making the birdhouses. Then I designed and cut them with my Silhouette Portrait and and mixed and matched the patterns for the roofs. The variety in the patterns and the shapes gave them a cute and whimsical look.dsc_0003-blog

After deciding on the placement of the birdhouses and the photograph on the layout, I smooshed(? is that a word?) watercolors on the white background so it co-ordinated with the houses on the front. Draws the eye more toward the details! πŸ™‚

And then I did something I never thought my Laziness would let me do- I fussy cut flowers! πŸ˜€ tons of them! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I must admit, watching Harry potter really takes away the tediousness out of fussy cutting! πŸ˜‰

I loved how the layout came together- and all the super dimensional look! I backed up all the houses with a lot of thick chipboard and the photo with some more.

Supplies used:

Patterned Paper: 1. Crate Paper Bloom collection- Sun Lit

2. Crate Paper Notes and Things

3. Heidi Swapp September Skies

4. Pink Paislee Bella Rouge

5. Amy Tangerine Rise and Shine

Other products: 6. Crate Paper chipboard stickers from  Wonder and Shine collections

7.. “Always” puffy sticker by Heidi Swapp

8. Silhouette Portrait

Here’s some more shots with deets- Hope you like it! πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Till next time! Happy November and happy Thanksgiving to all my friends on the other side of the world!

comments, anyone? :>

